The Security Institute

2023 Award Nominees

We are thrilled to announce the shortlisted nominees for this Years’ Gala Awards Dinner presentation, on the 18th April 2023.

Congratulations to all shortlisted Nominees, we look forward to announcing the winner of each category on the evening.


Outstanding Contribution to Security Award’ in memory of George van Schalkwyk
This award will recognise a Security Institute member who has demonstrated an outstanding contribution to the security profession

  • Jonathan Eddery CSyP MSyI, Director
  • Paul Arnill MBE  MSyI, Railway Enforcement Officer
  • Frank Cannon CSyP FSyI, Director, Cannon Asset Protection Limited
  • Mike Gillespie MSyI, Managing Director, Advent IM
  • Ross Harvey MSyI, Rockfort Security Consultants


‘Academic Achiever of the Year Award’ in memory of Wilf Knight
This award will recognise outstanding research on a security topic and will be awarded to a university student producing the most innovative and significant dissertation.

  • Samuel Alabi Bortey MSyI, University of West London
  • Tomas Goridkov MSyI, University of West London
  • Colin McDonald, University of Portsmouth


‘Institute Learner of the Year Award’ in memory of John Aplin
This award will recognise a Security Institute member who has recently (from January 2022 to date) finished their Security Institute Certificate, Diploma or Advanced Diploma qualification in Security Management and demonstrated that they have put their learnings into effective practice.

  • Anton O’Brien MSyI, Head of Intelligent Client Function, Security Team, Cabinet Office (BTEC L5 Diploma)
  • David Shaw MSyI, BAE Systems (BTEC L5 Diploma)


‘President’s Award for an Outstanding Young Professional’
This award celebrates the next generation of security leaders and will recognise a Security Institute member under the age of 35 who has personally had a positive impact on their organisation or the wider security sector.

  • Robert Stevens ASyI,  National Security Specialist Kuehne+Nagel
  • Tom Colman ASyI, UK Security Operations Manager – Tesco
  • Martin Tam Chon Kit, Assistant Loss Prevention Manager (Pre-opening Team) at W Macau -Studio City
  • Dominic Chandler MSyI, Security Officer
  • Daniel Pike MSyI, Operations manager UK North, pilgrims group


‘International Achiever of the Year Award’
This award will recognise a Security Institute member who has made a significant contribution to security outside the UK.

  • Dana Haubold CSyP MSyI, Senior Security Planning Specialist at Nawah Energy Company
  • Matthew Porcelli MSyI, Security Manager, Harvard Protection
  • Pantelis Angelides MSyI, CEO, Quadprime
  • Garry Bergin CSyP FSyI, Commercial Manager & Security Consultant

‘Volunteer of the Year Award’
This award will recognise an Institute member who has made a significant voluntary contribution to the Institute, for example through the Membership Management Advisory Group, Validation Board, special interest groups, Young Members Group, helping out at exhibitions, and other volunteer roles within the SyI.

  • Andy Donaldson CSyP FSyI & Steve McGrath FSyI, Head of Security REM & Head of Security Wembley Stadium
  • David Bamaung CSyP FSyI, Able Security Consultants
  • Julia McClelland CSyP FSyI, Retired
  • Joe Rutlidge MSyI, UK Guarding & External Partnerships Manager – Tesco
  • Karol Doherty MSyI, BID Security Manager, WeAreWaterloo Business Improvement District (BID)


The EDI Initiative of the Year Award
This award will recognise the best contribution or initiative to promote and support the EDI community in the security sector

  • Women’s Security Society: Empowering and inspiring current and future women of security
  • Women in Security Academy
  • Mel Hipwood and Satia Rai, Physical Security Operations Manager BEIS & CEO IPSA
  • Corps Together


Security Innovation or Product of the Year Award
This award will be presented to a security organisation, team or individual that has designed, created or launched training programme, app or initiative to improve security.

  • Gallagher Controller 7000 SD
  • Carlilse Support Services: Innovation Lab annual conference
  • SelectaDNA Personal Defence Spray
  • Terriscope Reporting App
  • Nedap: AEOS Locker Management: the future of secure storage


The ‘NextGen Star Award’ 
A young person who has demonstrated their interest in furthering their career in physical or Cyber security by studying, an apprenticeship or work placement.

  • Ben Teasdale, Sutton Police Cadets (VPC)
  • Owen Ehioghae, EY Foundation


Bookings are open for the 2023 Awards Gala Dinner, you can book HERE!

Our email newsletter


Site maintenance in progress, please contact us to subscribe to our newsletter.

Account Visibility

Please confirm you are happy to be listed on the Members List

Yes, please add me to the list No, please hide me from the list