The Security Institute


The Institute encourages and recognises excellence, as a part of its commitment to professional development and raising awareness of good security. It has developed an Awards Ceremony, where individuals and companies going the extra mile are recognised, and where its own Awards are presented.

The Institute makes four awards annually:

GEORGE VAN SCHALKWYK AWARD: for the best contribution to security management by an Institute member

JOHN APLIN AWARD: for the student achieving the highest marks in the Certificate in Security Management

WILF KNIGHT AWARD: to the higher education student making the most notible contribution to security development, as recommended by the university

PRESIDENTS AWARD: is voted on by the membership for the person making an exceptional contribution to the Security Institute.

View the photo gallery from the 2018 Awards Gala dinner by clicking HERE.

The John Aplin Award

Previous Winners

2008 – Emma Thomas

2009 – Peter Brown

2013 – Lee Trumper

2015 – Beatrice Orgles

2018 – Stephen Mangan

The George van Schwalkwyk Award

Previous Winners

2006 – Stewart Kidd

2007 – John Allan

2008 – Bill Wyllie

2009 – Ken Livingstone

2012 – David Gill

2013 – Mike Bluestone

2014 – Di Thomas

2015 – Emma Shaw

2018 – Andrew Nicholls

The Wilf Knight Award

Previous Winners

2009 – Danie Adendorff

2010 – Angus Darroch-Warren

2011 – Leonie Darbon and Matt Mackmin

2012 – Ian Middleton

2013 – Adam Jones

2014 – Andy Bowers

2015 – James Eaton

2016 – Tahia Zaidi

2018 – Ashton Kingdon

The Wilf Knight Award

Previous Winners

2018 – Dan Elstone

Our email newsletter


Account Visibility

Please confirm you are happy to be listed on the Members List

Yes, please add me to the list No, please hide me from the list